# Workspace administration

Learn how to manage your Slack workspace or Enterprise org.

# Manage channel posting permissions

**Who can use this feature?**

- All **members** (default)
- Available on [**all plans**](https://slack.com/pricing)

You can adjust who's allowed to post to channels or use mentions that [notify all channel members](https://slack.com/help/articles/202009646-Notify-a-channel-or-workspace). This helps keep large channels, like those used for announcements, on topic and free from distraction.

**Note:** Owners can restrict [who can set posting permissions](https://slack.com/help/articles/4409225141907-Manage-who-can-set-channel-posting-permissions). If you don’t see this option, [find an owner](https://slack.com/help/articles/360003534892-Browse-people-and-user-groups-in-Slack) and ask for help.

## Manage who can post in channels

### Free and Pro plans
### Business+ and Enterprise plans

You can change who can post messages in the [#general channel](https://slack.com/help/articles/220105027-Use-the-general-channel-to-share-announcements). This channel will be read-only for anyone without permission to post.

1. From your desktop, open the #general channel.
2. Click the channel name in the conversation header.
3. Select the **Settings** tab.
4. Next to **Posting permissions**, click **Edit**.
5. Select who can post and reply to messages. If you're specifying specific people, you can select up to 100.
6. Click **Save Changes**.

You can change who can post in any channel. A channel will be read-only for anyone without permission to post.

1. From your desktop, open the channel you'd like to adjust posting permissions for.
2. Click the channel name in the conversation header.
3. Select the **Settings** tab.
4. Next to **Posting permissions**, click **Edit**.
5. Select who can post and reply to messages. If you're specifying specific people, you can select up to 100 per channel.
6. Click **Save Changes**.

**Tip:** On the Business+ and Enterprise plans, owners and admins with permission can manage channel posting permissions with [channel management tools](https://slack.com/help/articles/360047512554-Use-channel-management-tools).

## Manage who can notify a channel

### Free and Pro plans
### Business+ and Enterprise plans

You can change who can [use @everyone](https://slack.com/help/articles/202009646-Notify-a-channel-or-workspace) to notify all members of the [#general channel](https://slack.com/help/articles/220105027-Use-the-general-channel-to-share-announcements).

1. From your desktop, open the #general channel.
2. Click the channel name in the conversation header.
3. Select the **Settings** tab.
4. Next to **Posting permissions**, click **Edit**.
5. Check or uncheck the box next to **Allow @everyone mentions**.
6. Click **Save Changes**.

You can change who can [use @everyone](https://slack.com/help/articles/202009646-Notify-a-channel-or-workspace) to notify all members of the [#general channel](https://slack.com/help/articles/220105027-Use-the-general-channel-to-share-announcements). You can also change who can [use @here or @channel](https://slack.com/help/articles/202009646-Notify-a-channel-or-workspace) to notify members in other channels.

1. From your desktop, open the channel you'd like to adjust posting permissions for.
2. Click the channel name in the conversation header.
3. Select the **Settings** tab.
4. Next to **Posting permissions**, click **Edit**.
5. Check or uncheck the box next to **Allow @here and @channel mentions**. (For the #general channel, you’ll see **Allow @everyone mentions**.)
6. Click **Save Changes**.

**Awesome!**

Thanks so much for your feedback!

If you’d like a member of our support team to respond to you, please send a note to [feedback@slack.com](mailto:feedback@slack.com).

**Got it!**

If you’d like a member of our support team to respond to you, please send a note to [feedback@slack.com](mailto:feedback@slack.com).
